1 + 1 = 3

Standard

In an interview I saw with Will Smith, he mentioned that in his reality, he would like anything to be anything.

As an example, Will said that he wants 1 + 1 to not equal 2, but 3.

The other day, I was thinking about this problem.

If you had three coins, for instance, and the value of one coin is $1 and the value of the other two is 50c. Then, essentially, depending on what you mean by 1 and what you mean by the other 1 and what you mean by the 2 or the 3, then the whole problem is objective.

If by 1 + 1 = 3 I mean, I have a piece valued at one and is 1 piece, I have another 2 pieces but with a value of one, however, the end result is that I have 3 pieces.

Hence, 1 + 1 = 3 is correct.

If you argue that then I should have just mentioned that I have 1 + 2 = 3, then we would be neglecting the value of each of the pieces I have, which are unequal.

I would like to know if, mathematically speaking, there is a way of communicating that 1 + 1 = 3 without confusing the masses with such a statement.

3 thoughts on “1 + 1 = 3

Leave a Reply

